Growing Crape Myrtles from Cuttings

Whether you want to reproduce a personal favorite, or looking to save money in the garden, crape myrtle cuttings are a great way to propagate crape myrtles. They can be rooted with new or old growth, though new growth and suckers root much quicker.

I recently planted 26 Sioux Crape Myrtles around my property line with two to a hole in hopes of creating a nice ‘property line’ kinda border around my front yard. They are only about 2 feet tall but should catch on pretty quickly.

By the end of the season I will be propagating the crape myrtles I planted in order to create more for the back yard. I have never had much luck with seed so I stick with cuttings. I will keep you posted on how it goes!

Tutorial: How to Grow Crape Myrtles from Cuttings

Leave a Reply

